Understanding through Discussion


Welcome! You are not logged in. [ Login ]
EvC Forum active members: 113 (8734 total)
Current session began: 
Page Loaded: 03-28-2017 7:25 PM
426 online now:
Chatting now:  Chat room empty
Newest Member: timtak
Post Volume:
Total: 802,130 Year: 6,736/21,208 Month: 2,497/2,634 Week: 160/525 Day: 75/60 Hour: 1/8


Thread  Details

Email This Thread
Newer Topic | Older Topic
  
1
23Next
Author Topic:   Techy Thread
Buzsaw
Inactive Member


Message 1 of 35 (497669)
02-05-2009 12:37 PM


I hope it an appropriate question for this forum, but I have a techy problem with my computer. When I click (DSL) on any website from the desktop it takes a couple of minutes for the site to log in. However if I have any website up and minimize it, any other website or even multiple websites come in immediately and normally. There has to be a website up to make the system function normally. After I X everything out, I must sit and wait for the first one to come up.

I have a one gig memory stick.

Edited by Buzsaw, : Changed thread title from "questions" to "thread."


Replies to this message:
 Message 2 by Taz, posted 02-05-2009 2:10 PM Buzsaw has responded
 Message 7 by bluescat48, posted 02-05-2009 5:21 PM Buzsaw has responded
 Message 10 by RAZD, posted 02-05-2009 10:33 PM Buzsaw has responded

  
Taz
Member (Idle past 644 days)
Posts: 5069
From: Zerus
Joined: 07-18-2006


Message 2 of 35 (497678)
02-05-2009 2:10 PM
Reply to: Message 1 by Buzsaw
02-05-2009 12:37 PM


Buzsaw writes:

I hope it an appropriate question for this forum, but I have a techy problem with my computer. When I click (DSL) on any website from the desktop it takes a couple of minutes for the site to log in. However if I have any website up and minimize it, any other website or even multiple websites come in immediately and normally. There has to be a website up to make the system function normally. After I X everything out, I must sit and wait for the first one to come up.

I have a one gig memory stick.


Allow me to reiterate what you just said.

I hope it an appropriate question for this forum, but I have a personal problem with my body. When I try to get up in the morning, it takes a couple minutes for my body to get moving and my brain to start thinking clearly. However, if I'm already awake, I can run around, do math problems, and perform a myriad of other tasks easy all day long. I have to be fully awake for my system to function normally. After I go to sleep, I must sit and wait for my eyes to open.

I have a brain.

Ok, joking aside, am I safe to assume you have a celeron?

Edited by Taz, : No reason given.


This message is a reply to:
 Message 1 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 12:37 PM Buzsaw has responded

Replies to this message:
 Message 3 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 3:01 PM Taz has responded

  
Buzsaw
Inactive Member


Message 3 of 35 (497684)
02-05-2009 3:01 PM
Reply to: Message 2 by Taz
02-05-2009 2:10 PM


Taz writes:

Ok, joking aside, am I safe to assume you have a celeron?

Hi Taz. Thanks for responding. Your witty body analogy fit's quite well. I don't have Celeron. I have a Netgear which networks me to my wife's computer. Her computer, however, is not affected by this amnesia.

My computer has always been a bit slow waking up from naps. However now unless I keep it busy with websites up it takes time to arouse it.


This message is a reply to:
 Message 2 by Taz, posted 02-05-2009 2:10 PM Taz has responded

Replies to this message:
 Message 4 by Taz, posted 02-05-2009 3:14 PM Buzsaw has responded

  
Taz
Member (Idle past 644 days)
Posts: 5069
From: Zerus
Joined: 07-18-2006


Message 4 of 35 (497687)
02-05-2009 3:14 PM
Reply to: Message 3 by Buzsaw
02-05-2009 3:01 PM


Buzsaw writes:

Your witty body analogy fit's quite well.


Haha, I was afraid you wouldn't get it.

I have a Netgear which networks me to my wife's computer.

The computer isn't the only thing that falls asleep and needs time to wake up, you know. Networks do the same. Establishing the connection takes time.

My computer has always been a bit slow waking up from naps. However now unless I keep it busy with websites up it takes time to arouse it.

What explorer do you use?
This message is a reply to:
 Message 3 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 3:01 PM Buzsaw has responded

Replies to this message:
 Message 5 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 4:41 PM Taz has not yet responded

  
Buzsaw
Inactive Member


Message 5 of 35 (497701)
02-05-2009 4:41 PM
Reply to: Message 4 by Taz
02-05-2009 3:14 PM


Re: Explorer
Taz writes:

What explorer do you use?

Internet Explorer is the browser and Outlook Express is the email.

Taz writes:

The computer isn't the only thing that falls asleep and needs time to wake up, you know. Networks do the same. Establishing the connection takes time.

Yes, I had that problem once. I'm thinking that that's not the problem since the networked computer connected to the Netgear router works fine. Does that make sense?


BUZSAW B 4 U 2 C Y BUZ SAW.
The immeasurable present eternally extends the infinite past and infinitely consumes the eternal future.
This message is a reply to:
 Message 4 by Taz, posted 02-05-2009 3:14 PM Taz has not yet responded

Replies to this message:
 Message 6 by Huntard, posted 02-05-2009 4:48 PM Buzsaw has not yet responded

  
Huntard
Member
Posts: 2854
From: Limburg, The Netherlands
Joined: 09-02-2008


Message 6 of 35 (497702)
02-05-2009 4:48 PM
Reply to: Message 5 by Buzsaw
02-05-2009 4:41 PM


Re: Explorer
Buzsaw writes:

Yes, I had that problem once. I'm thinking that that's not the problem since the networked computer connected to the Netgear router works fine. Does that make sense?


It could still be the network connection that simply needs time to get up and running. I've got the same thing where I work, the first time I need to print something from a specific printer, I have to wait a bit for the print to come out (15 seconds or so), after that the printing always starts immediately (No, I'm not talking about a laserprinter that needs to warm up, this is an old printer, some type of daisy wheel printer I believe, yes I know, ancient shit).


I hunt for the truth
This message is a reply to:
 Message 5 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 4:41 PM Buzsaw has not yet responded

    
bluescat48
Member (Idle past 1542 days)
Posts: 2347
From: United States
Joined: 10-06-2007


Message 7 of 35 (497707)
02-05-2009 5:21 PM
Reply to: Message 1 by Buzsaw
02-05-2009 12:37 PM


I have a similar problem which occurs when no browser is opened. Whatever site I try to go to no matter which browser I use takes an "Eternity" to open then almost instantaneous to the next as long as there is one site opened.


There is no better love between 2 people than mutual respect for each other WT Young, 2002

Who gave anyone the authority to call me an authority on anything. WT Young, 1969


This message is a reply to:
 Message 1 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 12:37 PM Buzsaw has responded

Replies to this message:
 Message 8 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 5:49 PM bluescat48 has responded

    
Buzsaw
Inactive Member


Message 8 of 35 (497713)
02-05-2009 5:49 PM
Reply to: Message 7 by bluescat48
02-05-2009 5:21 PM


bluescat writes:

I have a similar problem which occurs when no browser is opened. Whatever site I try to go to no matter which browser I use takes an "Eternity" to open then almost instantaneous to the next as long as there is one site opened.

Is your explorer/brouser the same as mine?


This message is a reply to:
 Message 7 by bluescat48, posted 02-05-2009 5:21 PM bluescat48 has responded

Replies to this message:
 Message 9 by bluescat48, posted 02-05-2009 8:11 PM Buzsaw has not yet responded

  
bluescat48
Member (Idle past 1542 days)
Posts: 2347
From: United States
Joined: 10-06-2007


Message 9 of 35 (497727)
02-05-2009 8:11 PM
Reply to: Message 8 by Buzsaw
02-05-2009 5:49 PM


I use 2 browsers and have the same problem with both:
IE7 & Firefox3.0.6


There is no better love between 2 people than mutual respect for each other WT Young, 2002

Who gave anyone the authority to call me an authority on anything. WT Young, 1969


This message is a reply to:
 Message 8 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 5:49 PM Buzsaw has not yet responded

    
RAZD
Member
Posts: 18242
From: the other end of the sidewalk
Joined: 03-14-2004
Member Rating: 3.0


Message 10 of 35 (497740)
02-05-2009 10:33 PM
Reply to: Message 1 by Buzsaw
02-05-2009 12:37 PM


paging pages and resident memory
Hey Buz,

This used to be more noticeable in older machines and older software.

My opinion of what you are dealing with, is how much the program is in resident memory (using your 1 gig RAM) and how much has been "paged" (stored on the hard-drive). Software that is inactive often gets "paged" while the software you are using is loaded into resident memory.

The loading of programs from the harddrive into resident memory is why there is always a delay starting up any program.

There used to be an old problem of programs staying "resident" even after they were closed, causing slow down of all other programs then having to page more often to use the remaining resident memory. This is also what some of the adware programs do too - take up resident memory as they collect information on your use of the computer.

Enjoy.


we are limited in our ability to understand
by our ability to understand
Rebel American Zen Deist
... to learn ... to think ... to live ... to laugh ...
to share.


• • • Join the effort to solve medical problems, AIDS/HIV, Cancer and more with Team EvC! (click) • • •

This message is a reply to:
 Message 1 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 12:37 PM Buzsaw has responded

Replies to this message:
 Message 11 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 11:44 PM RAZD has acknowledged this reply

  
Buzsaw
Inactive Member


Message 11 of 35 (497748)
02-05-2009 11:44 PM
Reply to: Message 10 by RAZD
02-05-2009 10:33 PM


Re: paging pages and resident memory
RAZD writes:

My opinion of what you are dealing with, is how much the program is in resident memory (using your 1 gig RAM) and how much has been "paged" (stored on the hard-drive). Software that is inactive often gets "paged" while the software you are using is loaded into resident memory.

Thanks for weighing in, RAZD. Can you advise me what to do to correct the problem? Is there a website you might suggest which deals with this problem?


This message is a reply to:
 Message 10 by RAZD, posted 02-05-2009 10:33 PM RAZD has acknowledged this reply

Replies to this message:
 Message 12 by Nighttrain, posted 02-06-2009 3:16 AM Buzsaw has responded

  
Nighttrain
Member (Idle past 1346 days)
Posts: 1512
From: brisbane,australia
Joined: 06-08-2004


Message 12 of 35 (497756)
02-06-2009 3:16 AM
Reply to: Message 11 by Buzsaw
02-05-2009 11:44 PM


Re: paging pages and resident memory
Hi, Buz, try the three-finger salute to see what`s still running. Some programs take a while to close. Though both my IE and Firefox aren`t great off the mark.
This message is a reply to:
 Message 11 by Buzsaw, posted 02-05-2009 11:44 PM Buzsaw has responded

Replies to this message:
 Message 13 by Buzsaw, posted 02-06-2009 12:50 PM Nighttrain has not yet responded

    
Buzsaw
Inactive Member


Message 13 of 35 (497888)
02-06-2009 12:50 PM
Reply to: Message 12 by Nighttrain
02-06-2009 3:16 AM


Re: paging pages and resident memory
Nighttrain writes:

Hi, Buz, try the three-finger salute to see what`s still running. Some programs take a while to close. Though both my IE and Firefox aren`t great off the mark.

Thanks, Nighttrain. I'm not sure whether tfs will have a bearing on entries as it does on closings. Usually closings are not a problem but this is good to keep in mind as having some bearing on the problem.


BUZSAW B 4 U 2 C Y BUZ SAW.
The immeasurable present eternally extends the infinite past and infinitely consumes the eternal future.
This message is a reply to:
 Message 12 by Nighttrain, posted 02-06-2009 3:16 AM Nighttrain has not yet responded

  
Buzsaw
Inactive Member


Message 14 of 35 (497890)
02-06-2009 12:56 PM


Many Thanks To Resident Techys
I have discovered that I'm getting a load of cookies in the scans which we're doing daily now since this happened. The scan for just today found no [i]viruses[i] but isolated what looks like several hundred cookies into the virus vault. Some of these are Zado, RealMedia24, cookie 2o7, Yieldmanager, etc.

We did two things today. I forgot that we had an inactive Mozilla browser on the bottom task bar, We deleted that and we scanned. I don't know which did the trick, but things are subsequently back to normal, so I think we're getting to the problem.

I'm thinking that perhaps RAZD's notion was correct. Perhaps the long inactive Mozilla browser was loading up on cookies. Does that make sense?

Abe: I'm very grateful to each one who weighed in on this. Hopefully these loads of cookies will not have a place to load into now. Time will tell if this is the case.

Edited by Buzsaw, : Add statement


Replies to this message:
 Message 15 by DevilsAdvocate, posted 02-06-2009 1:49 PM Buzsaw has responded
 Message 17 by Taz, posted 02-06-2009 7:29 PM Buzsaw has responded

  
DevilsAdvocate
Member (Idle past 454 days)
Posts: 1548
Joined: 06-05-2008


Message 15 of 35 (497895)
02-06-2009 1:49 PM
Reply to: Message 14 by Buzsaw
02-06-2009 12:56 PM


Re: Many Thanks To Resident Techys
Buzz,

Also try this. Check out your start-up and resident programs and services by selecting Run from your Start menu. Type in MSCONFIG.
If you have Vista I think you have to type it in the Search box.
A System Configuration Menu should pop up. From there you can disable or enable start-up programs and services (though be very careful what you turn off). If your computer crashes just restart without saving any changes. Here is a good site that can help you out with this: How to use MSCONFIG

Also here is another good site I have personally used to optimize my XP and make it run faster: Optimze XP


For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring.
Dr. Carl Sagan
This message is a reply to:
 Message 14 by Buzsaw, posted 02-06-2009 12:56 PM Buzsaw has responded

Replies to this message:
 Message 16 by Buzsaw, posted 02-06-2009 2:08 PM DevilsAdvocate has not yet responded

  
1
23Next
Newer Topic | Older Topic
Jump to:


Copyright 2001-2015 by EvC Forum, All Rights Reserved

™ Version 4.0 Beta
Innovative software from Qwixotic © 2017