Understanding through Discussion


Welcome! You are not logged in. [ Login ]
EvC Forum active members: 91 (8855 total)
Current session began: 
Page Loaded: 08-16-2018 8:33 AM
204 online now:
PaulK, Tangle (2 members, 202 visitors)
Chatting now:  Chat room empty
Newest Member: rldawnca
Post Volume:
Total: 836,946 Year: 11,769/29,783 Month: 791/1,642 Week: 205/460 Day: 4/40 Hour: 0/1


Thread  Details

Email This Thread
Newer Topic | Older Topic
  
Prev1
2
Author Topic:   Stile's Stupid Test Thread
Stile
Member
Posts: 3223
From: Ontario, Canada
Joined: 12-02-2004
Member Rating: 2.1


Message 16 of 19 (828039)
02-08-2018 10:38 AM
Reply to: Message 14 by Diomedes
02-08-2018 9:46 AM


Huh.

But I'm still having the same issue with Chrome.

Gateway timeout when I attempt to reply to Taq's Message 32.
Had to do a "general reply" instead, which worked fine.

Weird.


This message is a reply to:
 Message 14 by Diomedes, posted 02-08-2018 9:46 AM Diomedes has not yet responded

    
Stile
Member
Posts: 3223
From: Ontario, Canada
Joined: 12-02-2004
Member Rating: 2.1


Message 17 of 19 (828053)
02-08-2018 3:35 PM
Reply to: Message 15 by Stile
02-08-2018 10:33 AM


Upon further testing...

If the issue appears in Chrome (normal mode) and I shut down the browser and start it up again and try again... sometimes this helps (issues goes away and everything works) and sometimes it doesn't (issues is still there even after restarting Chrome).

However, if I have the issue, then restart Chrome in Incognito Mode and try again... it "always" seems to work.
Always is in quotes because it's not like I've really done a lot of testing... only once or twice, really.


This message is a reply to:
 Message 15 by Stile, posted 02-08-2018 10:33 AM Stile has acknowledged this reply

    
NoNukes
Member
Posts: 10863
From: Central NC USA
Joined: 08-13-2010
Member Rating: 2.4


Message 18 of 19 (828349)
02-16-2018 10:16 AM


Test of quote and bolding
quote:
will this show upin bold type inside a quote or is that not working anymore

Under a government which imprisons any unjustly, the true place for a just man is also in prison. Thoreau: Civil Disobedience (1846)

"Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!

We got a thousand points of light for the homeless man. We've got a kinder, gentler, machine gun hand. Neil Young, Rockin' in the Free World.

Worrying about the "browning of America" is not racism. -- Faith

I hate you all, you hate me -- Faith


    
Percy
Member
Posts: 17570
From: New Hampshire
Joined: 12-23-2000
Member Rating: 2.3


Message 19 of 19 (829109)
03-03-2018 12:02 PM


Testing Search Facility
Hidden text:
xxxxxx

Unhidden text: yyyyyy

AbE:

A search could find "yyyyyy", but not the hidden "xxxxxx". Now let's see if it can find the unhidden "xxxxxx".

AbE2:

Interesting. Hidden text cannot be searched. Looking up how I implemented this...

It's just a div with a "display:none". So do I process the dBCodes first before generating the list of searchable words from the message?

I think the reason is because the last word of the hidden text has no white space before the beginning of the next word, and so they get appended. But there *is* white space, in fact a whole blank line, so this shouldn't happen and is a bug. Testing this possibility now by putting white space inside the hidden section.

Hidden text:

xxxxxx

Unhidden text: yyyyyy

AbE3:

Make the hidden text a string of z's, not x's:

Hidden text:

zzzzzz

Unhidden text: yyyyyy

AbE4:

Yep, that works. Attempting to fix the bug now...

Edited by Percy, : AbE.

Edited by Percy, : AbE2.

Edited by Percy, : AbE3.

Edited by Percy, : AbE4.


    
Prev1
2
Newer Topic | Older Topic
Jump to:


Copyright 2001-2015 by EvC Forum, All Rights Reserved

™ Version 4.0 Beta
Innovative software from Qwixotic © 2018