Understanding through Discussion


Welcome! You are not logged in. [ Login ]
EvC Forum active members: 63 (9072 total)
58 online now:
nwr, Tanypteryx (2 members, 56 visitors)
Newest Member: FossilDiscovery
Post Volume: Total: 893,150 Year: 4,262/6,534 Month: 476/900 Week: 0/182 Day: 0/28 Hour: 0/1


Thread  Details

Email This Thread
Newer Topic | Older Topic
  
Author Topic:   dBoard 3.0 Beta Release Today
AZPaul3
Member
Posts: 6634
From: Phoenix
Joined: 11-06-2006
Member Rating: 3.1


Message 379 of 426 (613228)
04-23-2011 12:10 AM


Unable to Post
At work I am using IE 8.06

Couple days ago I discovered I cannot reply or init messages.

Error: Dispatch table lookup failure, control does not exist: Preview

Error: Dispatch table lookup failure, control does not exist: Submit

Works fine from home on Chrome 10.0

Sent an e-mail from work, but not sure if you received due to recent e-mail issues or maybe unrecognized address since I have not registered that address on this forum.


Replies to this message:
 Message 380 by Admin, posted 04-23-2011 7:51 AM AZPaul3 has replied

AZPaul3
Member
Posts: 6634
From: Phoenix
Joined: 11-06-2006
Member Rating: 3.1


Message 381 of 426 (613266)
04-23-2011 7:54 PM
Reply to: Message 380 by Admin
04-23-2011 7:51 AM


Re: Unable to Post
Just getting home. Unable to post on my work platform.

Both messages as before:

Error: Dispatch table lookup failure, control not found: Preview (or Submit)

I did try reload, several times.

Tried logging out of EVC then back in.

Tried same with a full system re-boot in between.

Full re-boot both with and without EVC automatic login.

Tried to reply to specific message, general message to a thread and proposed new topic. Redundant, I know, since they all use the same routines, but, what the hey.

IE 8.0.6001.18702 IC, Update 0.

One thing I cannot try is to delete cookies. IT Security uses cookies internally.

I could try deleting just the major EVC cookies if you think that might be helpful. Give me the names of the ones you plant and I can try it at work tomorrow?

One of the few days when most people don't mind my being an atheist and I don't mind working.

What other types of info would be helpful for you? Will probably not be able to reply until well after 7 pm Mountain Sunday.

abe: I note in the practice thread you posted with IE8 with no problem. Doesn't appear, at first glance anyway, to be an IE8 issue. Any other such complaints from IE8 users?

Could there be something in the data stream from my system that is causing an issue? I'm thinking some input data that is causing an out of bound memory or buffer overflow situation.

Edited by AZPaul3, : No reason given.


This message is a reply to:
 Message 380 by Admin, posted 04-23-2011 7:51 AM Admin has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 382 by Admin, posted 04-23-2011 11:46 PM AZPaul3 has replied

AZPaul3
Member
Posts: 6634
From: Phoenix
Joined: 11-06-2006
Member Rating: 3.1


Message 383 of 426 (613279)
04-24-2011 11:36 AM
Reply to: Message 382 by Admin
04-23-2011 11:46 PM


Re: Unable to Post
It shall be done.

At work from noon to about 7. If it worked I'll leave a message from work. If not then I'll leave my message when I get home. Depending on business I may not be able to try this till late afternoon.

Glad to help.


This message is a reply to:
 Message 382 by Admin, posted 04-23-2011 11:46 PM Admin has seen this message

AZPaul3
Member
Posts: 6634
From: Phoenix
Joined: 11-06-2006
Member Rating: 3.1


Message 384 of 426 (613316)
04-24-2011 5:55 PM
Reply to: Message 382 by Admin
04-23-2011 11:46 PM


Re: Unable to Post
OK, now this is interesting.

I am on a second platform with IE8.0.6001.18702 in the same office and this one appears to work just fine, with scripting enabled.

Sounds like a specific plaform issue to me.

On my computer I tried as you suggested with active scripting disabled with no effect. Still get the table lookup error.

Unless there is some significant difference between .18702 and .18702IC, which would be weird but we are, afterall, talking about Microsoft, then I'm thinking this thing is a platform ghost.

Edited by AZPaul3, : No reason given.


This message is a reply to:
 Message 382 by Admin, posted 04-23-2011 11:46 PM Admin has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 385 by Admin, posted 04-24-2011 6:07 PM AZPaul3 has replied

AZPaul3
Member
Posts: 6634
From: Phoenix
Joined: 11-06-2006
Member Rating: 3.1


Message 386 of 426 (613320)
04-24-2011 6:22 PM
Reply to: Message 385 by Admin
04-24-2011 6:07 PM


Curiouser and Curiouser
Just noticed that on my faulty platform the menu buttons are different.

This one has Profile, Essential Links, FAQ etc on one line in blue background for the words only.

On my errant box this shows as Profile (blue background for word only) centered on one line, then Essential Links centered in a blue background that stretches across the entire screen on the second line, then the FAQ, etc. on a third line blue background for the words only.

Is this loaded by cookie?


This message is a reply to:
 Message 385 by Admin, posted 04-24-2011 6:07 PM Admin has seen this message

Replies to this message:
 Message 387 by nwr, posted 04-24-2011 6:49 PM AZPaul3 has replied

AZPaul3
Member
Posts: 6634
From: Phoenix
Joined: 11-06-2006
Member Rating: 3.1


Message 388 of 426 (613352)
04-24-2011 8:11 PM
Reply to: Message 387 by nwr
04-24-2011 6:49 PM


Re: Curiouser and Curiouser
Well, I'll be go to hell!

I turned off compatibility and EVC works just fine.

Gotta love Microsoft.

Thanks nwr.


This message is a reply to:
 Message 387 by nwr, posted 04-24-2011 6:49 PM nwr has seen this message

Newer Topic | Older Topic
Jump to:


Copyright 2001-2018 by EvC Forum, All Rights Reserved

™ Version 4.1
Innovative software from Qwixotic © 2022