Understanding through Discussion


Welcome! You are not logged in. [ Login ]
EvC Forum active members: 66 (9078 total)
117 online now:
dwise1, PaulK, Tangle (3 members, 114 visitors)
Newest Member: harveyspecter
Post Volume: Total: 895,087 Year: 6,199/6,534 Month: 392/650 Week: 162/278 Day: 2/28 Hour: 0/0


Thread  Details

Email This Thread
Newer Topic | Older Topic
  
Author Topic:   dBoard 3.0 Beta Release Today
Admin
Director
Posts: 12814
From: EvC Forum
Joined: 06-14-2002
Member Rating: 2.4


Message 166 of 426 (525129)
09-21-2009 8:51 PM


Setting Default Display of Thread Details to Off
I just checked the database, and only three members have set the default display of thread details to off, so once again...

If you would prefer not to see the thread detail summary displayed at the top of each page of messages, then go to your user profile page and under the Member Preferences section set Display Thread Details to "No".

You can make these details visible on any message page by clicking on the little triangle link to the right of the context line.


--Percy
EvC Forum Director

lyx2no
Member (Idle past 4031 days)
Posts: 1277
From: A vast, undifferentiated plane.
Joined: 02-28-2008


Message 167 of 426 (527730)
10-02-2009 1:00 PM
Reply to: Message 143 by Admin
09-09-2009 7:21 AM


Re: Sign-in from another computer
Sorry to take so long on getting back to you. It is my practice to read my textbooks from cover to cover and answer all of the questions during the first few weeks of the school year. I don't understand why you grown-ups need kids to answer all of these questions for you; you're all supposed to be so smart. I hope I've been of some service.

At any rate, I got on without a hitch. I'm hoping to get a last comment in to ICANT's thread before it's closed, but I have to wait till I get home.

Thanks.


It's not the man that knows the most that has the most to say.
— Anon

This message is a reply to:
 Message 143 by Admin, posted 09-09-2009 7:21 AM Admin has seen this message but not replied

Dr Jack
Member (Idle past 1420 days)
Posts: 3507
From: Leicester, England
Joined: 07-14-2003


Message 168 of 426 (527742)
10-02-2009 1:51 PM


(BUG) Doubles the message?
Several times now I have had the software double up the text of a message after posting or previewing. It seems to be linked to mismatched tags in the message.

Replies to this message:
 Message 169 by Perdition, posted 10-02-2009 2:41 PM Dr Jack has not replied
 Message 170 by Admin, posted 10-02-2009 5:53 PM Dr Jack has not replied

Perdition
Member (Idle past 2553 days)
Posts: 1593
From: Wisconsin
Joined: 05-15-2003


Message 169 of 426 (527753)
10-02-2009 2:41 PM
Reply to: Message 168 by Dr Jack
10-02-2009 1:51 PM


Re: (BUG) Doubles the message?
I don't know if this is what you mean but...I have found that when I'm responding point by point to a post, it sometimes will paste the entire post I'm responding to in the writing pane, even if I only copied the portion I'm replying to. This can be very disconcerting if I don't notice it right away and either preview or post, then find the entirety of the post I'm responding to in the middle of my own post.

This message is a reply to:
 Message 168 by Dr Jack, posted 10-02-2009 1:51 PM Dr Jack has not replied

Admin
Director
Posts: 12814
From: EvC Forum
Joined: 06-14-2002
Member Rating: 2.4


Message 170 of 426 (527820)
10-02-2009 5:53 PM
Reply to: Message 168 by Dr Jack
10-02-2009 1:51 PM


Re: (BUG) Doubles the message?
This is a known bug, I'm not sure it's exhibited by all browsers, and I'm not even sure it's my bug. When you're replying to a message you'll see that you can display that message in regular or peek mode. Both versions of the text are present, but one is always hidden. Which one depends on which radio button you've selected. The normal text is displayed by default.

If you're not careful when copy-n-pasting near the top or bottom of the box the message is in you'll get the hidden text included in your copy-n-paste, and you'll end up pasting two copies of the message, one with just the text, and one with all the dBCode and HTML markup.

My own opinion is that browsers should never let you copy-n-paste hidden text. This hasn't been a high priority, but since it's been mentioned I'll try to take a look this weekend.


--Percy
EvC Forum Director

This message is a reply to:
 Message 168 by Dr Jack, posted 10-02-2009 1:51 PM Dr Jack has not replied

Admin
Director
Posts: 12814
From: EvC Forum
Joined: 06-14-2002
Member Rating: 2.4


Message 171 of 426 (528055)
10-04-2009 7:29 AM


Change to Post Totals
I've made a minor change to the Post Totals that appear in the banner near the top of each page.

It used to be this year/past 365 days, this month/past 30 days, and so forth

It is now this year/last year, this month/last month, and so forth.


--Percy
EvC Forum Director

Replies to this message:
 Message 172 by dokukaeru, posted 10-04-2009 9:34 AM Admin has replied

dokukaeru
Member (Idle past 3930 days)
Posts: 129
From: ohio
Joined: 06-27-2008


Message 172 of 426 (528064)
10-04-2009 9:34 AM
Reply to: Message 171 by Admin
10-04-2009 7:29 AM


Re: Change to Post Totals
I'm not sure if its been mentioned, but on the rating scale from 1-5 should 0 be included to reflect a posts total lack of anything useful? Should I just use 1 for that?

Thanks,
Joe


This message is a reply to:
 Message 171 by Admin, posted 10-04-2009 7:29 AM Admin has replied

Replies to this message:
 Message 173 by Admin, posted 10-04-2009 9:50 AM dokukaeru has not replied

Admin
Director
Posts: 12814
From: EvC Forum
Joined: 06-14-2002
Member Rating: 2.4


Message 173 of 426 (528067)
10-04-2009 9:50 AM
Reply to: Message 172 by dokukaeru
10-04-2009 9:34 AM


Re: Change to Post Totals
If you want to rate a post low, use 1.

Once a message has been rated you cannot unrate it, a lack I intend to remedy sometime soon. I might have already mentioned that I like the Netflix approach to rating with regard to usability, and I'm planning to do something similar.


This message is a reply to:
 Message 172 by dokukaeru, posted 10-04-2009 9:34 AM dokukaeru has not replied

RAZD
Member (Idle past 720 days)
Posts: 20714
From: the other end of the sidewalk
Joined: 03-14-2004


Message 174 of 426 (530252)
10-12-2009 6:56 PM


Summary Time Feature - to improve the quality of summary posts.
Hey Percy,

Just another thought for additional feature. One of the problems is getting people to make constructive summary posts, rather than just blathering on and on.

It occurred to me that an admin could activate a "summary time feature" that (a) only allows posts from previous participants on the thread and (b) only allows one summary post per person.

When activated, and a person hits a reply button, they would be notified that (a) this is their last post on the thread and (b) that it should be a summary of their position.

This might impose a little more thought on what one wants to say, and it keeps some abusers of this time from making several posts while the thread is open for other summaries.

Examples are easy:
Message 548 an attack on the thread author while ignoring the topic (although it has been edited 4 times ...)
Message 555 a second post by the same person that still fails to summarize a position related to the topic, but extends the ad hominem attacks.

Enjoy.

Edited by RAZD, : No reason given.


Replies to this message:
 Message 175 by Admin, posted 10-13-2009 7:47 AM RAZD has seen this message but not replied

Admin
Director
Posts: 12814
From: EvC Forum
Joined: 06-14-2002
Member Rating: 2.4


Message 175 of 426 (530370)
10-13-2009 7:47 AM
Reply to: Message 174 by RAZD
10-12-2009 6:56 PM


Re: Summary Time Feature - to improve the quality of summary posts.
Already on the list. I plan to do this at the same time I automate the thread proposal process.


--Percy
EvC Forum Director

This message is a reply to:
 Message 174 by RAZD, posted 10-12-2009 6:56 PM RAZD has seen this message but not replied

Admin
Director
Posts: 12814
From: EvC Forum
Joined: 06-14-2002
Member Rating: 2.4


Message 176 of 426 (531346)
10-17-2009 7:22 AM


Minor Update Just Installed
Hi all!

I've just installed a minor update, but it affected every code module. The naming scheme for global variables has changed. If you notice a problem please post here.

The URL shortening code was also modified. It now makes better decisions about how best to shorten a long URL. For example, links with text like this:

http://muse.jhu.edu/login?uri=/journals/review_of_higher_education/v032/32.3.orazem.html

http://www.scribd.com/doc/6889050/Nizkor-Project-Fallacies-Labossier

Become links like this:

http://muse.jhu.edu/login?uri=/journals/review_of_higher_...

http://www.scribd.com/.../Nizkor-Project-Fallacies-Labossier


--Percy
EvC Forum Director

Admin
Director
Posts: 12814
From: EvC Forum
Joined: 06-14-2002
Member Rating: 2.4


Message 177 of 426 (531424)
10-17-2009 5:55 PM


new dBCodes: HTML and NOPARSE
The new [HTML] and [NOPARSE] dBCodes have just been implemented. Some may already be familiar with these codes from other boards, but if not you can find short descriptions at HTML dBCode and NOPARSE dBCode.

Has anyone ever seen a board with a truly fully functional [LATEX] code?


--Percy
EvC Forum Director

Adminnemooseus
Administrator
Posts: 3959
Joined: 09-26-2002


Message 178 of 426 (531791)
10-19-2009 11:40 PM


"Thread Name Not Available" showing up at promoted PNT's
The following - The first 2 are the now closed PNT versions, the 3rd is a promoted version:

http://www.evcforum.net/cgi-bin/dm.cgi?action=msg&m=531631
http://www.evcforum.net/cgi-bin/dm.cgi?action=msg&m=531658
http://www.evcforum.net/cgi-bin/dm.cgi?action=msg&m=531789

All have that "Thread Name Not Available" show up, without any link to the related topic. This seems to be a brand new happening.

Adminnemooseus


Replies to this message:
 Message 179 by Admin, posted 10-20-2009 9:04 AM Adminnemooseus has not replied
 Message 182 by Admin, posted 10-21-2009 7:30 AM Adminnemooseus has not replied

Admin
Director
Posts: 12814
From: EvC Forum
Joined: 06-14-2002
Member Rating: 2.4


Message 179 of 426 (531856)
10-20-2009 9:04 AM
Reply to: Message 178 by Adminnemooseus
10-19-2009 11:40 PM


Re: "Thread Name Not Available" showing up at promoted PNT's
That's fascinating. I have no idea why this stopped working. I'll try to look at it tonight. In the meantime, just doing an edit/submit on these posts fixes the problem.


--Percy
EvC Forum Director

This message is a reply to:
 Message 178 by Adminnemooseus, posted 10-19-2009 11:40 PM Adminnemooseus has not replied

NosyNed
Member
Posts: 8971
From: Canada
Joined: 04-04-2003


Message 180 of 426 (532010)
10-20-2009 8:24 PM


link problem
Message 26

See message 26 of POTM for Oct for a problem.

I went to edit it and the final version shown (above the editing is intact and works).

ABE
and the same problem occurs here I have [mid=532009]

ABE 2
??? now it works??

Edited by NosyNed, : No reason given.

Edited by NosyNed, : No reason given.


Replies to this message:
 Message 181 by Granny Magda, posted 10-21-2009 6:35 AM NosyNed has not replied

Newer Topic | Older Topic
Jump to:


Copyright 2001-2018 by EvC Forum, All Rights Reserved

™ Version 4.1
Innovative software from Qwixotic © 2022